A famous comedian/actor will be honored with a distinguished prize this October.

FOX's Michelle Pollino reports: 

Another 'Saturday Night Live' alumni will be the recipient of the Mark Twain Prize for American Humor. The John F. Kennedy Center for the performing arts announced Bill Murray will receive the Twain prize.

Previous cast members that won include Tina Fey and Eddie Murphy. Murray joined the cast in 1977, replacing Chevy Chase, and created characters like i nick the lounge singer.

Thank you thank you where are you allf rom ...

His first big movie hit was 'Caddyshack' in 1980. He went on to become the nation's most bankable comedy star, playing the lovable smart aleck to perfection in 'Ghostbusters' and 'Groundhog Day'.

Michelle Pollino, FOX News.

Follow FOX's Michelle Pollino on Twitter: @MichelleFOXEnt