As the Trump administration fights a travel ban challenge in Hawaii, another state has filed suit.

FOX's Rachel Sutherland reports from Washington:

New York joins Washington, California, Maryland, Massachusetts, and Oregon in filing an amended complaint, claiming potential harms to residents, institutions, and economies.

The lawsuit comes as the Justice Department files a response to Hawaii's effort to get a restraining order on the revised executive order before it goes into effect at midnight Thursday.

The DOJ argues the order includes a comprehensive waiver process to mitigate any undue hardship. The revised order temporarily restricts travel from six predominantly Muslim nations and puts a temporary stop to the Syrian refugee program.

In Washington, Rachel Sutherland, FOX News.

Follow Rachel Sutherland on Twitter: @SutherlandFOX