Madonna and Jay Z top the list for the Songwriters Hall of Fame.

FOX's Michelle Pollino reports: 

The Songwriters Hall of Fame has added Jay Z, one of contemporary music's most celebrated lyricists alongside Madonna, Cat Stevens, Sly Stone, Chicago, Gloria Estefan, and Jeff Lynne as nominees for the class of 2017.

Also on the long list George Michael, Bryan Adams, Vince Gill, Babyface, Max Martin, Kool & the Gang and more.

Jay Z is the first rapper to be nominated for the Songwriters Hall of Fame. Eligible members can vote for three non-performing songwriters as well as two performing songwriters until Dec. 16.

Five will be officially inducted at a gala in New York in June.

Michelle Pollino, FOX News.