The United States has approved six airlines that will begin scheduled flights to Cuba as soon as this fall.

FOX's Jon Decker has more from the White House:

As early as this fall, six American airlines will begin scheduled flights to Cuba from five American cities.

The Department of Transportation announced that it has approved scheduled air service to Cuba after more than half a century.

Flights between Miami, Fort Lauderdale, Chicago, Philadelphia, and Minneapolis/St. Paul and Cuba will soon be available on Frontier, American, JetBlue, Southwest, Sun Country and Silver Airways.

Under the new arrangement, each country has the opportunity to operate up to 10 daily roundtrip flights between the U.S. and each of Cuba's nine international airports.

At the White House, Jon Decker, FOX News.

Follow FOX's Jon Decker on Twitter: @JonDeckerFox