Two kinds of Cheerios are being recalled.

FOX News Radio's Lisa Brady has more:

You may have noticed the popular brand's recent jump onto the gluten-free bandwagon.

(Cheerios Engineer Phil Zietlow) "My team and I have came up with a way to remove the grains that contain gluten from the naturally gluten-free oats that Cheerios are made of."

But General Mills is recalling nearly two million boxes of Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios because they say gluten-free, but they actually contain wheat.

The company says boxes made in July at a plant in Lodi, California, mistakenly used wheat flour in a system that normally is used for processing gluten-free oat flour. Those boxes are being pulled off shelves and out of warehouses.

General Mills says customers who can't eat wheat can contact the company for a new box or a refund.

Lisa Brady, FOX News Radio.