- Former South African President Nelson Mandela Dies [VIDEO]Posted 13 hours ago
- NSA Reportedly Tracks & Collects Cell Phone Travel DataPosted 20 hours ago
- FOX on Tech: Delivering Packages By DronePosted 22 hours ago
- Barbecue Tips From A PitmasterPosted 5 months ago
Rage Over NFL Replacement Refs’ Controversial Call
UPDATE: The NFL upholds the touchdown ruling at end of Green Bay-Seattle game.
A wild ending in the end zone last night, as angry Packers fans think the Seahawks stole a win after a controversial call by the NFL replacement referees.
FOX News Radio’s Rich Johnson reports:
(Announcer) “The game’s final play… Is a Wilson loft to the end zone.”
Seahawks’ quarterback Russell Wilson threw the pass… eventually the referees ruled that receiver Golden Tate caught it.
(Wilson) “That was a great catch, great play. Obviously it was a tough call.”
Wilson loved it, even though the cameras clearly that showed Tate shoved one Packer defender and shared possession of the ball with another defender.
(Packers Fan) “That’s still their mistake, and it just needs to end.”
That disgusted Packers fan, one of many not happy that yet another NFL game was decided by mistaken calls by the replacement referees.
Rich Johnson, FOX News Radio.
Read the NFL Statement on the Final Play of the Green Bay Packers – Seattle Seahawks Game below:
In Monday’s game between the Green Bay Packers and Seattle Seahawks, Seattle faced a 4th-and-10 from the Green Bay 24 with eight seconds remaining in the game.
Seattle quarterback Russell Wilson threw a pass into the end zone. Several players, including Seattle wide receiver Golden Tate and Green Bay safety M.D. Jennings, jumped into the air in an attempt to catch the ball.
While the ball is in the air, Tate can be seen shoving Green Bay cornerback Sam Shields to the ground. This should have been a penalty for offensive pass interference, which would have ended the game. It was not called and is not reviewable in instant replay.
When the players hit the ground in the end zone, the officials determined that both Tate and Jennings had possession of the ball. Under the rule for simultaneous catch, the ball belongs to Tate, the offensive player. The result of the play was a touchdown.
Replay Official Howard Slavin stopped the game for an instant replay review. The aspects of the play that were reviewable included if the ball hit the ground and who had possession of the ball. In the end zone, a ruling of a simultaneous catch is reviewable. That is not the case in the field of play, only in the end zone.
Referee Wayne Elliott determined that no indisputable visual evidence existed to overturn the call on the field, and as a result, the on-field ruling of touchdown stood. The NFL Officiating Department reviewed the video today and supports the decision not to overturn the on-field ruling following the instant replay review.
The result of the game is final.
Applicable rules to the play are as follows:
A player (or players) jumping in the air has not legally gained possession of the ball until he satisfies the elements of a catch listed here.
Rule 8, Section 1, Article 3 of the NFL Rule Book defines a catch:
A forward pass is complete (by the offense) or intercepted (by the defense) if a player, who is inbounds:
(a) secures control of the ball in his hands or arms prior to the ball touching the ground; and
(b) touches the ground inbounds with both feet or with any part of his body other than his hands; and
(c) maintains control of the ball long enough, after (a) and (b) have been fulfilled, to enable him to perform any act common to the game (i.e., maintaining control long enough to pitch it, pass it, advance with it, or avoid or ward off an opponent, etc.).
When a player (or players) is going to the ground in the attempt to catch a pass, Rule 8, Section 1, Article 3, Item 1 states:
Player Going to the Ground. If a player goes to the ground in the act of catching a pass (with or without contact by an opponent), he must maintain control of the ball throughout the process of contacting the ground, whether in the field of play or the end zone. If he loses control of the ball, and the ball touches the ground before he regains control, the pass is incomplete. If he regains control prior to the ball touching the ground, the pass is complete.
Rule 8, Section 1, Article 3, Item 5 states:
Simultaneous Catch. If a pass is caught simultaneously by two eligible opponents, and both players retain it, the ball belongs to the passers. It is not a simultaneous catch if a player gains control first and an opponent subsequently gains joint control. If the ball is muffed after simultaneous touching by two such players, all the players of the passing team become eligible to catch the loose ball.
President Obama tweeted about the call on Tuesday afternoon: