FOXLight – Music Releases: Week of 7-2-2012

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Share on StumbleUponEmail this to someone

Audio clip:

Bad boy pop star Chris Brown leads a light music release week in the FOXLight. Brown hopes to reverse his fortunes with Fortune, full of guest shots by Wiz Khalifa, Big Sean and Nas

Jennifer Lopez, Sia and Redfoo of LMFAO join Flo Rida on his latest Wild Ones

‘80s prog-poppers Asia celebrate 30 years together on XXX, featuring the now-obligatory futuristic artwork by Roger Dean…

Heavy Metal-ists Nile return with their seventh studio album At The Gate of Sethu

American opera singer Noah Stewart is the first black performer to top the British classical music charts, and now his debut Noah arrives stateside…

Movie scores arrive including James Horner’s work for The Amazing Spider-Man, and Henry Jackman’s for Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter

American Idol Season 11: Top 10 Highlights collects tracks from favorites Joshua Ledet, Jessica Sanchez and winner Phillip Phillips

Prodigy of Mobb Deep returns with H.N.I.C. 3, and guests Havoc, Wiz Khalifa and T.I.…

And Keller Williams teams with bluegrass-ers The Travelin’ McCourys for some pickin’ and grinnin’ on Pick.

On the Reissue Front

Bob Dylan’s seminal 1967 comp Bob Dylan’s Greatest Hits gets the 24KT + Gold audiophile remastering treatment from the sonic geniuses at Audio Fidelity…

Want some slick, radio ready ‘80s R&B pop?  Who ya gonna call?  Ray Parker, Jr., that’s who, and his albums Two Places At The Same Time, A Woman Needs Love, The Other Woman, and Woman Out Of Control each get remastered and expanded with bonus tracks by funkytowngrooves…

Alan O’Day’s Appetizers, which featured his one hit wonder “Undercover Angel” gets resurrected by Fuel 2000, adding one bonus track…

EMI/Capitol’s 10 Great Songs reissue series goes Country and adds new 10-track compilations for Glen Campbell, Crystal Gayle, Merle Haggard, and George Jones

And our friends in the UK, always champions of the catalog reissue, resurrect the following titles which are available on import: Bronski Beat‘s 1985 albums The Age of Consent and its remix companion Hundreds & Thousands return together in one remastered 2 CD package from Edsel…Every Mother’s Son gets anthologized on the 23 track Come on Down: The Complete MGM RecordingsKC & The Sunshine Band‘s 1975 self-titled album gets remastered and expanded with bonus single edits and a Tom Moulton remix of “Get Down Tonight”…The fifth and final album from The Mamas & The Papas, 1971’s People Like Us gets remastered with 9 bonus tracks…a boxed set arrives for The Searchers: the four CD, 121 track Hearts In Their Eyes: Celebrating 50 Years of Harmony & JangleThe Spinners‘ (or Detroit Spinners in the UK) first album for Motown, Truly Yours returns with 14 bonus tracks…and Have Mercy! The Songs of Don Covay collects 26 Covay tracks covered by Soul royalty including Aretha Franklin, Solomon Burke, Wilson Pickett and Little Richard.

The FOXLight Podcast has all of the week’s hot music and DVD releases all in one place, for FREE.  Get it here.

In New York…I’m Rob Maurer, FOX News Talk!